Peter B. Moyle Elected as American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow

Seven University of California, Davis, faculty members are included in the newest class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The AAAS Council recently voted in 391 fellows in all for 2016, in recognition of their efforts to advance science or its applications.

UC Davis’ new fellows are Peter B. Moyle, wildlife, fish and conservation biology; Wolf-Dietrich Heyer and Neil Hunter, both of microbiology and molecular genetics; Simon Cherry, biomedical engineering; James B. Ames and Dean J. Tantillo, both of chemistry; and ­Francisco J. Samaniego, statistics. See a list of all of UC Davis’ AAAS fellows.

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society. Membership in the nonprofit association is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education and public engagement. AAAS publishes Science and other journals.

The 2016 class of fellows will be inducted in February during the society’s annual meeting, to be held Feb. 16-20 in Boston.

College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Peter B. Moyle, distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Wildlife, Fish and Conservation Biology, and associate director of the Center for Watershed Sciences — Honored for contributions to ecology, management and conservation of freshwater and estuarine fishes and for greatly improving the teaching of fish biology worldwide. Moyle is author or co-author of more than 225 publications, including the definitive Inland Fishes of California (2002). He has served on numerous advisory bodies, including the Ecosystem Restoration Program Science Board of the California Bay-Delta Authority and the National Research Council Panel on the Klamath River.